top of page
Booksellers' Best Award
BBABadge_Large_winner (2).png

A Published Authors’ Contest for Books Published in 2022 Sponsored by Greater Detroit Romance Writers of America

Send questions to

NOTE REGARDING OUR CONTEST: GDRW disaffiliated from the national organization, Romance Writers of America (RWA), November, 2021. Due to the timing of our organizational changes, and with a new board term starting January 2022, we decided it would be best to postpone the contest. We anticipate that the board will have an announcement about the contest by the summer of 2023, and you are welcome to check back on our website or our social media platforms to get updates. Our Facebook link can be found here:

The Booksellers’ Best Award is a prestigious contest for published romance authors in 11 romance categories, plus the Patti Shenberger ‘Best First Book’ award. All books are judged by booksellers or librarians from across the United States. Perks and prizes include a uniquely designed award for each winner, a reception for all finalists at RWA National conference where winners are announced, and winners’ names and book covers posted on the GDRW website – just to name a few.

Each entry is judged by three judges who answer the following questions.

  1. Is the resolution of the romance emotionally satisfying and optimistic?

  2. Does the entry fall within the category description?

Two or more ‘NO’ answers will result in disqualification of the entry. In addition, each book is rated with a score of 1-5 in the following areas: Technique, Mechanics, Storytelling, Goal / Motivation / Conflict, and Overall Impression. Scores from all five categories are tallied for a total score. Learn more below!

BBABadge_Large_winner (2).png

Enter Our Contest!

Become A Judge

Current & Past Winners

Our contest will be delayed. See "NOTE REGARDING OUR CONTEST" above.

Are you a bookseller or librarian and you’d like to judge books entered in the Booksellers’ Best Award contest? Please click below to sign up.

Hundreds of books are entered into our contest every year by first-time authors and national best selling authors alike. Check out the winners here.

bottom of page